Requirements & Criteria

Freshman Applicants:

High School Seniors for the Freshman Year

Selection Criteria

Regents Scores: 30%
Cumulative GPA: 30%
Rank in Class: 10%
Personal Data & Essay: 20%
Applicant Appraisals: 10%

Recipients of the Northern New York, Herring and Visiting Nurse scholarships are chosen based on student’s combined regents scores, cumulative high school GPA, rank in class, personal data, essay scores and applicant appraisals. The mentioned criteria are entered into a database to produce a numerical ranking of all freshman applicants. Remaining Foundation restricted scholarships are awarded based on donor driven criteria.

Non-Traditional Students: For any year in college or technical school, full or part-time

  • High school or college transcripts will be required.
  • Interviews will be required.
  • Selection will be based on educational objectives, ability to meet them and financial need.
  • Amount of award is based on financial need.

North Pleasant Street, Watertown Scholarship Applicants:

  • The applicant must currently reside on North Pleasant Street, Watertown and the applicant’s family must have resided on North Pleasant Street for at least five years.

St. Lawrence County Applicants: High School Seniors for the Freshman Year

  • Applicants must be students in the following school districts: Canton, Clifon-Fine, Colton-Pierrepont, Edwards-Knox, Gouverneur, Hammond, Harrisville, Hermon-DeKalb, Heuvelton, Lisbon, Madrid-Waddington, Massena, Morristown, Norwood-Norfolk, Ogdensburg, Parishville-Hopkinton, Potsdam or St. Lawrence Central.
  • Applications will be accepted from high school seniors who will be full-time college freshmen (12 credits per semester).
  • Students who will be attending technical schools are eligible to apply.
  • Selection is based on academic criteria and personal data as listed above.

Rotary Purple Heart Scholarship Applicants:

  • Applicants (or their dependents – spouse or child) must provide documentation of a Purple Heart Award.
  • Applicants must be residents of Jefferson, Lewis or St. Lawrence County.
  • Applicants can be entering any year of full-time undergraduate study (12 credits per semester).