NORTHERN NEW YORK COMMUNITY FOUNDATION, INC.

120 Washington Street, Suite 400 Watertown, NY 13601

(315) 782-7110 ◆ Fax: (315) 782-0047 Web: www.nnycf.org ◆ email: april@nnycf.org

For Immediate Release October 28, 2014

For more information, contact April Fallon, 782-7110

NNYCF Introduces Two New Youth Philanthropy Councils

The Northern New York Community Foundation has implemented two new Youth Philanthropy Councils for the 2014-15 academic year. Immaculate Heart Central and Ogdensburg Free Academy students will have the opportunity to participate in the philanthropic and educational youth councils throughout this academic year. Immaculate Heart Central High School and Ogdensburg Free Academy youth councils join the already established youth council groups at Watertown High School and Potsdam Central School. Watertown High School has successfully granted to non-profits for four years, while Potsdam Central School completed their first year of grant making last year. Overall, the youth council program has granted over \$52,000 among non-profit agencies in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties.

The inaugural Immaculate Heart Central High School youth council met on October 15th and elected their Executive Committee. At the first meeting, John Montondo, council advisor, stated to students, "The key word in this endeavor is youth. As advisors we are here to assist you, however, this is your council and it will be your deliberations that will ultimately lead to those non-profits that will benefit from your decisions." Mr. Montondo continued, "You will learn the art of debate and compromise as a skill necessary for your futures." Karen Perry, Learning Center Coordinator at Immaculate Heart Central, will assist Mr. Montondo as co-advisor to the group. Eleven IHC students are participating on the council this year.

Ogdensburg Free Academy met for the first time and elected their Executive Committee on the evening of October 23rd. "I am pleased and proud that our students have this opportunity to work with the Northern New York Community Foundation," states Cindy Tuttle, OFA principal. "I am confident it will prove to be a remarkable learning experience for all."

Thirteen students will participate on OFA's council. Advisors to the group are Christina Frank, Foreign Language Teacher and Key Club Faculty Advisor and James Reagen, Key Club Kiwanis Advisor. "The opportunity presented by establishing a youth council at OFA is a tremendous one for which I am grateful to be a part of," states Christina Frank. "I look forward to the students developing an understanding of the not for profit organizations in our area."

All four high schools will be requesting proposals from non-profit organizations for projects to be considered for funding. The solicitation of grant request will begin in early December and run through February 2015. Each high school will have \$10,000 to distribute over the 2014-15 academic year. Organizations applying for grant assistance must be providing services in Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties to be considered.

The councils are able to participate in the grantmaking process thanks to the support of Watertown Savings Bank, Renzi Foodservice, RBC Wealth Management, and with additional support provided by the Grasseroots Fund, Sweetgrass Foundation and the Northern New York Community Foundation's Annual Fund.

"Our youth councils present a unique opportunity for local non-profit organizations that may not otherwise be funded through our regular grant process," states April Fallon, Coordinator of Partnerships. For additional information, organizations can contact Mrs. Fallon at 782-7110.

Immaculate Heart Central High School Youth Council Members include:

Walter Dodard, II Charles Mouaikel, Chairperson

Bryana Dunnigan Anna O'Neil Dominic Farone Emily Rivera

Katey Kellogg David Signor, Vice Chairperson

Makenzie Kramer Taylor Welch

Addie McManimon, Recording Secretary

Ogdensburg Free Academy Youth Council Members include:

Joshua Carroll

Jack Kelly

Austin Morley-Sloan

Andrew Putman

Laken Kelly, Vice Chairperson Sarah Richer, Recording Secretary

Zoe Martin Cody Ryan Ellen Miller Jordan Snyder

Jordan Miller Ashleigh Sovie, Chairperson

Olivia Monroe

###